1000 cranes of hope


Couple of days back i had to take a few examinations at school.. And i had tons to study.. But as always the things that I wanted to do were different.. i wanted to keep myself busy with anything but books..

That is when one of my random Google searches told me about Senbazuru.. The Japanese custom of makes 1000 origami cranes..

tumblr_lr1j2mHmfJ1r2g03to1_500

Senbazuru ( 1000 paper cranes) is a group of one thousand origami paper cranes (tsuru) held together by strings.. An ancient Japanese legend promises that anyone who folds a thousand origami cranes will be granted a wish by a crane.. Some stories believe you are granted eternal good luck, instead of just one wish, such as long life or recovery from illness or injury…

While growing up I always believed that miracles do happen, you just have to believe in them.. and i believe in this ancient legend..:)so Now its obviously the wishing part that i am after..

anyways, You are supposed to make a whooping 1000 cranes because in Japan ,Crane, one of the mystical or holy creatures (others include the dragon and the tortoise) is said to live for a thousand years.. So 1000 cranes  ,one for each year…||

In some stories it is believed that the 1000 cranes must be completed within one year and they must all be made by the person who is to make the wish at the end…(I made them in 10 days :P) The Cranes that are made by that person and given away to another aren’t included: All cranes must be kept by the person wishing at the end..

I don’t know if my wish would ever come true .. I sure hope it would.. But i know that folding these paper birds helped me keep myself busy..it helped me in stopping my mind from wandering to places that its not supposed to.. Thinking about things that is not supposed to think of.. And missing people that is not supposed to miss..

By the end of the day these 1000 cranes have helped me keep my hope alive.. A hope that will let me take one more day at a time.. A hope that lets me sleep in the night…

If any of you are interested in knowing how  to fold a paper crane, I have attached a simple picture showing you how to..:)

how-to

PS: now, making a 1000 cranes is the easy part.. storing/displaying them is difficult!!

I first thought of bottling them up or displaying them in a nice bowl.. or to string them up and making a mobile out of them..  none of these ideas seemed too appeasing since i live in a tiny apartment, with no much room for hanging a mobile, neither does the bowled up version go with the style of other things that i have.. so for the time being my cranes are stocked up in a large storage box…

2e4

Any cool ideas that you might have, on “HOW TO DISPLAY THE PAPER CRANES” are highly welcomed..

love,

CH

Leave a Reply

